Wrist Braces and Booster Gold

So I’ve been a bit MIA. Unfortunately, I started showing symptoms of carpal tunnel syndrome. It wouldn’t have been so bad if everything in my life didn’t revolve around typing. I’m an administrative assistant, a transcriber, and when I have a free moment, a writer.

The past week I’ve been wearing a wrist brace on my dominant hand, making it infuriatingly difficult to perform everyday tasks like drinking out of a glass or writing my name.

But not everything was terrible last week. I met with my friend Carolyn, a comic creator and artist. After a tasty meal at Chipole and lengthy discussion concerning the calorie count of tortillas and the utter nonsensical uselessness of burrito bowls. Seriously, what’s the point of having a burrito without the tortilla? A burrito is street food and putting it in a bowl changes that and… ok, I need to let it go.

For dessert Carolyn and I went to Pinkberry. It was my first time  and while we waited a worker handed us a sample of their new flavor salty caramel. It was love at first bite. The sea salt sprinkled on top of the caramel yogurt was so scrumptious that I went back the next day (after seeing Something Borrowed with other friends).

The highlight of the week though was seeing my completed Booster Gold commission from Thom Zahler. Booster is one of my favorite characters. He’s up there with Bart Allen, Batman and the Jaime Maddrox.

Some of you might be wondering who Thom Zahler is. He’s the creator of Love and Capes a “heroic situational romantic comedy in comic book form.” Zahler writes, draws, inks and pretty much do EVERYTHING involved with the creation of the comic. It has often been wondered how he has time to produce Love and Capes, attend comic conventions, take commissions and various other things. I believe it’s some combination of Starbucks, Twitter and not sleeping, but I could be wrong.

Last year I had the pleasure of interviewing Thom before his appearance at the Baltimore Comic-Con (You can read it HERE) and he is just as funny and charming in person as he seems on Twitter and in his blog.

Leave a comment

Filed under Comic Books, Everyday Life, Superheroes

Leave a Reply

